Directed By

Michael Apted


Directed by Michael Apted (The World is Not Enough, Gorillas in The Mist), this award- winning British musical drama is the follow up to THAT’LL BE THE DAY and, like its predecessor, features a wealth of British musical talent in the supporting cast, including Adam Faith, Marty Wilde and Keith Moon.

Aspiring rock star, Jim MacLaine (David Essex – That’ll be The Day, Silver Dream Racer), is back with The Stray Cats (Paul Nicholas, Keith Moon, Dave Edmunds and Karl Howman) and is in desperate need of a road manager. He seeks out his old friend Mike (Adam Faith) who takes up the monumental task of keeping Jim on track whilst he rises to fame. The sweet taste of success begins to turn sour as Jim immerses himself in hedonism and loses sight of who he used to be.

Produced by the great David Puttnam (Melody, The Mission, Chariots of Fire), the film boasts a soundtrack that capture the music of the era perfectly and feature timeless music by Little Richard, The Beach Boys, Carole King, The Shirelles, Jefferson Airplane, Bee Gees, Righteous Brothers, Gerry & the Pacemakers, Cat Stevens, The Animals, and more.

Starring David Essex, Adam Faith, Larry Hagman, Ines des Longchamps, Rosalind Ayres, Marty Wilde, Dave Edmunds And Keith Moon
Other Credits

Written by Ray Connolly

Release Date
21 October 2019
  • New Interview with David Puttnam
  • New Interview with Michael Apted
  • New Interview with writer Ray Connolly
  • Stills gallery
  • English SDH
Restoration Details

For the 2019 restoration of Stardust, STUDIOCANAL went back to the original camera negative where possible and alternative sources where severe damage that could not be repaired was encountered. These elements were scanned at 4K resolution in 16bit. The project involved over 200 hours of manual frame by frame fixes and resulted in the creation of a new DCP, and HD version which were produced with the same high technological standards as today’s biggest international film releases.


Click on the image to zoom

Related Titles

Philip Leacock1953
Waris Hussein1971
Carol Reed 1948
Jack Gold1976
Anthony Harvey1968
Robert Hamer1947

Famous Fans